Senate Committees to Examine Consolidation Proposal

***MEDIA ADVISORY***
3/27/2017 
Senate Committees to Examine Consolidation Proposal

HARRISBURG – The Senate will hold the first of a series of public hearings looking into the Wolf Administration’s proposal to consolidate the departments of Human Services, Health, Aging, and Drug and Alcohol Programs. This is a major element of the proposed state budget, and will affect countless agencies and individuals across Pennsylvania.

WHO:
Senate Health and Human Services Committee
Senator Lisa Baker (R-20), Majority Chair
Senator Judy Schwank (D-11), Minority Chair                      

Senate Aging and Youth Committee
Senator Michele Brooks (R-50), Majority Chair
Senator Art Haywood (D-4), Minority Chair

Intergovernmental Operations Committee
Senator Camera Bartolotta (R-46), Majority Chair
Senator Anthony Williams (D-8), Minority Chair

Senate Appropriations Committee – Health and Human Services Subcommittee
Senator Pat Browne (R-16), Majority Chair
Senator Vince Hughes (D-7), Minority Chair

WHEN:
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
1:00 pm to 5:00 pm

WHERE:
North Office Building, Hearing Room 1-2, Harrisburg

Among those invited to provide testimony are Budget Secretary Randy Albright, Policy and Planning Secretary Sarah Galbally, Administration Secretary Sharon Minnich, Department of Human Services Secretary Ted Dallas, Department of Health Secretary Dr. Karen Murphy, Department of Aging Secretary Teresa Osborne, Drug and Alcohol Programs Acting Secretary Jennifer Smith, and representatives of McKinsey&Company, the consulting firm hired by the Wolf Administration to identify operational efficiencies, cost savings, and revenue enhancements.

CONTACTS:

Senator Baker:  Andrew Seder, (570) 226-5960, aseder@pasen.gov        
Senator Bartolotta:  Katrina Anderson, (717) 787-1463, kanderson@pasen.gov                                                    
Senator Brooks:  Diane McNaughton, (717) 783-1244, dmmcnaughton@pasen.gov
Senator Browne:  Matt Moyer, (717) 787-1349, mmoyer@pasen.gov                  
Senator Haywood:  Michelle Welk, (215) 242-8171, mwelk@pasenate.com
Senator Hughes:  Elizabeth Rementer, (717) 787-3378, erementer@pasenate.com
Senator Schwank:  Jamie Klein, (610) 929-2151, jklein@pasenate.com
Senator Williams:  Sabrina Hall, (215) 492-2980, shall@pasenate.com

Impact on the Commonwealth on the consolidation of the Departments of Health, Human Services, Aging and Drug and Alcohol Programs

JOINT HEARING

Senate Aging & Youth Committee

AND Senate Health & Human Services Committee

AND Senate Intergovernmental Operations Committee

AND Senate Health and Human Services Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee

Wednesday, March 29, 2017 at 1 pm

North Office Building, Hearing Room #1

Impact on the Commonwealth on the consolidation of the Departments of Health, Human Services, Aging and Drug & Alcohol Programs

 

Agency Implications

 

Fiscal, Policy, and Personnel Considerations

1:00 p.m. – 1:20 p.m.       Opening Remarks

  • Committee Chairs

1:20 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.       Panel I – Agency Implications:

Testimony

  • Ted Dallas, Secretary of Human Services
  • Karen Murphy, Secretary of Health
  • Teresa Osborne, Secretary of Aging
  • Jennifer Smith, Acting Secretary of Drug and Alcohol

Programs

  • Rachel Levine, Physician General

3:45 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.       Panel II – Fiscal, Policy, and Personnel Considerations:

  • Randy Albright, Secretary of the Budget
  • Sarah Galbally, Secretary of Policy and Planning
  • Sharon Minnich, Secretary of Administration